参与活动

学生和律师助理的机会

VLP 是一个法律援助组织,旨在将法学院学生和志愿律师与大波士顿地区的低收入客户联系起来,以便在民事案件中提供免费的法律服务。 在 VLP 做志愿者是一次非常有益的经历,您的全力支持对于确保平等诉诸司法至关重要。

在我们的至少一个法律单位实习一个学期或暑期:

上诉部门的实习生将接触到不同阶段的上诉,从最初决定对下级法院的决定提出上诉,到口头辩论再到决定。 实习生的日常职责包括:进行录用、审查案卷以及跟进客户的信息。 实习生还将协助监督检察官跟踪全州的上诉和协调模拟辩论。 实习生也可能有机会起草单一法官的请愿书,如果经过 3:03 认证,则可以在上诉法院的单一法官面前进行辩论。 上诉部门每学期可以支持一名二年级或三年级法学院学生实习生。 实习生必须在周二上午参加案例审查会议 (11-12) 和周三下午参加上诉诊所 (12-4)。 

虽然目前没有安排破产诊所,但破产部门的实习生将有机会承担自己的客户案件,与客户一对一地评估客户的收入、财产、资产和债务。 这些评估将使实习生能够就第 7 章破产程序、管理债务、清偿债务、收款证明收入以及利用 MA 豁免保护某些财产向客户提供建议。 实习生将协助客户获取文件,并在将案件提交给 Pro Bono 律师之前起草转介备忘录。 所有这一切都将在破产部门律师助理 Elaine Dias 和高级律师 Colin Harnsgate 和律师 Grace Brockmeyer 的监督下完成。 

  

在研究马萨诸塞州联邦破产法的应用时,实习生将发展他们的研究和分析技能,以检查客户的资产是否会在破产中受到保护,以及破产是否是客户的最佳选择。 虽然不是必需的,但实习生最好也可以参加案例审查,目前在周五早上举行。 

消费者部门的实习生将有机会了解债务催收案件的整个过程。 他们的职责包括:在诊所后进行摄入,采访客户以准备听证会,并且 3:03 认证实习生也可以在书记官法官面前辩论案件。 实习生还可以代表客户起草法律备忘录并进行研究、起草 93A 要求函和起草文件。 消费单元每学期最多可支持三名实习生。 实习生必须在星期四有空去诊所,最好是在星期二早上以及病例审查。  

DotHouse 法律诊所是学生在广泛的法律领域学习基本法的独特机会,包括住房、家庭法、209A、监护、消费者债务催收、基本福利、特殊教育、CORI、移民和遗嘱。 学生将获得法律分析和推理技巧以及面试技巧。 学生直接与低收入/服务不足的多元化社区的客户合作,并体验医疗和法律专业人员如何合作来识别和解决法律需求以改善患者的健康结果。 职责包括筛选客户的资格、完成法律接收、安排和进行客户面谈、准备和提交公司的案例摘要,以及协助起草文件、客户跟进、研究法律信息、建议和推荐。 

 

学生应精通英语以及西班牙语或越南语。 学生需要在周二和周四参加我们的每周会议并接受指导和指导。 诊所和所有相关会议都在远程进行。 该诊所可容纳 2 名实习生。 

家庭法部门的实习生将有机会直接与客户合作并执行行政任务。 实习生的职责可能包括:客户致电索取文件或其他信息,代表客户起草法庭文件,研究与未决客户案件相关的问题,执行延长客户接收,并为符合条件的客户起草转介备忘录VLP 的指导方针。 获得 3:03 认证的实习生也有机会在 VLP 律师的监督下代表客户参加虚拟、电话或面对面的法庭听证会。 实习生将有能力在这个职位上发展他们的电话和人际交往能力。 家庭法部门每学期最多可支持五 (5) 名实习生,前提是至少两 (2) 名愿意并能够在监护方面进行交叉培训, 家庭法和监护实习生最好在周一下午参加案件审查会议,周三上午参加 诊所 

监护部门的实习生将有机会审查文件、直接与客户互动、进行研究以及起草文件和备忘录。 实习生在与客户联系以获取文件和其他信息时,还将能够发展他们的电话和人际交往能力。 一些监护需要医疗文件。 因此,实习生将有机会了解哪些信息对法院来说至关重要,并将学会确定法院是否可能接受客户的医疗文件。 监护单位可以支持两 (2) 到三 (3) 名实习生,前提是少数人愿意并能够在家庭法方面进行交叉培训。 

租户宣传:实习生将有机会在驱逐案件的每个阶段工作,以及因违反卫生法规而起诉房东要求赔偿的肯定案件。 实习生的日常职责包括:为远程住房诊所进行接收和分类推荐、采访客户、起草 93A 信件、诉状、答复和发现请求。 实习生可参加法庭调解会议,3:03 经认证的实习生可出席法庭听证会。 实习生还被要求进行法律研究。 住房单元每学期最多可支持五名实习生。 实习生必须在周一早上参加案例审查会议,周二早上参加 今日律师, (可能是星期四早上 答案和发现诊所 – A&D 诊所的暂定时间表)。 

 

房东宣传实习生将有机会与两户或三户家庭的低收入房东一起工作,这些房东依靠收取租金来支付账单,保持房产处于良好的维修状态,并支付税款和抵押贷款。 他们通常被称为妈妈和爸爸,并提供价格适中的住房。 实习生将能够与我们的团队进行虚拟合作,为未支付租金或拒绝房东进入公寓进行维修的租户进行辩护,协助房东获得经济援助,协助“每日律师”计划以及驱逐案例。 实习生的日常职责包括:接受录取、采访客户、起草动议、回答发现请求,以及在我们的虚拟律师日计划中工作。 实习生可以参加 法庭调解会议和 3:03 认证实习生可能会出现在法庭听证会或“每日律师”计划中。 实习生还被要求进行法律研究。 实习生必须参加周五的案例审查虚拟会议。

失业部门的实习生将有独特的机会在失业过程的多个阶段工作,包括初步的客户会议以评估案件的优点,进行研究以支持客户的索赔和起草案件备忘录。 法学院学生将有机会在行政上诉听证会上准备和代表客户。 在行政听证会上代表客户的实习生将有机会对证人进行直接和交叉询问,以及结束辩论。 对于不作为内部代表的失业案件,实习生在致电索赔人以获取有关索赔人分居或出院的更多信息时,将能够提高他们的面谈技巧。 此信息将用于起草转介备忘录,以发送给 Pro Bono Attorneys,后者将在 DUA 听证会上代表索赔人。  

带薪实习生将更多地关注法律研究和案件准备。 实习生将被期望:在诊所进行摄入,采访客户以确定潜在的索赔,并起草记录请求和要求函。 实习生还将被要求对特定案件进行研究,并审查任何必要的文件以提出索赔。 春季学期,工资和工时单位每学期只能支持一名实习生,也可以支持多名实习生与其他单位分工。 就业案例审查在周二下午举行,但如果在此期间没有申请人,则不会破坏交易。 

遗嘱/遗产规划部门的实习生将有机会准备案例,以提交给我们的公益小组,以协助起草遗嘱、医疗保健委托书和授权书文件。 该单位是 VLP 最不忙的法律单位之一,我们不向客户提供法律援助; 我们完全依靠我们的无偿志愿者来完成案例工作。 实习生的职责包括:与客户进行详细的录取以评估资格,与客户面谈以了解他们对遗嘱和预先指示的愿望,告知客户此类文件的参数以及他们授予的权力,以及起草案例备忘录给我们的志愿律师小组。 很少期望实习生进行法律研究。 遗嘱/预先指示单位每学期可以支持一名实习生。 实习生必须在周一下午参加案例审查会议。 

  • 诊所的支持人员和志愿律师——通常在法院
  • 执行接收和观察程序
  • *3:03 认证学生与监督律师一起协助客户

感兴趣的? 电子邮件 Pro Bono 助理 Danelia Ramirez Aguilar 在 daguilar@vlpnet.org

承担

每学期每周至少 12-16 小时。

可用性

秋季、春季和夏季学期。

申请

如果您对任何学生和律师助理机会感兴趣,请点击下方使用此集中表格。

 

应用

Get Involved

Student and Paralegal Opportunities

VLP is a legal aid organization that connects law students and volunteer attorneys with low-income clients of the Greater Boston Area in order to provide free legal services in civil cases. Volunteering at VLP is an incredibly rewarding experience, and your dedicated support is critical to ensuring equal access to justice.

Intern for a semester or summer in at least one of our legal units:

Interns for the Appeals unit will gain exposure to appeals at various stages, from the initial decision to appeal a lower court decision to oral argument to decision. Interns’ daily responsibilities include: conducting intakes, reviewing case dockets, and following up with clients for information. Interns will also assist the Supervising Attorney in tracking statewide appeals and coordinating moots. Interns may also have the opportunity to draft single justice petitions, and if 3:03-certified, to argue before a single justice in the Appeals Court. The Appeals unit can support one second or third-year law student intern per semester. Interns are required to be available on Tuesday mornings for case review meetings (11-12) and Wednesday afternoons for the Appeals Clinic (12-4). 

While there is currently not a Bankruptcy clinic scheduled, interns in the Bankruptcy Unit will have the opportunity to carry their own client caseload, working one on one with clients to assess the clients’ income, property, assets, and debts.  These assessments will enable interns to advise clients on the Chapter 7 Bankruptcy process, managing debts, discharging debts, collection-proof income, and protecting certain property utilizing MA exemptions.   Interns will assist clients in obtaining documentation and will draft referral memos prior to cases being placed with Pro Bono attorneys.   All this will be done under the supervision of the Bankruptcy Unit Paralegal Karla Mojica Perez and Senior Staff Attorney Colin Harnsgate and Staff Attorney Grace Brockmeyer. 

  

Interns will develop their research and analytical skills when researching the application of the Federal Bankruptcy code in Massachusetts to examine if the client’s assets will be protected in Bankruptcy, and if Bankruptcy is even the best option for the client. While not required, it is preferable that interns can attend case review, as well which are currently held on Friday mornings. 

Interns for the consumer unit will have the opportunity to see the entire life of a debt collection case. Their responsibilities include: conducting intakes after clinic, interviewing clients to prepare for hearing, and 3:03 certified interns may also argue cases before the clerk magistrate. Interns can also be expected to draft legal memos and conduct research, draft 93A demand letters, and draft documents on behalf of clients. The consumer unit can support up to three interns per semester. Interns are required to be available on Thursdays for clinic and preferably on Tuesday mornings as well for case review.  

The DotHouse Legal Clinic is a unique opportunity for students to learn basic law in a wide range of legal areas including Housing, Family Law, 209A, Guardianship, Consumer Debt Collection, basic benefits, special education, CORI, Immigration, and Wills.  Students will gain legal analysis and reasoning skills as well as interviewing skills.  Students work directly with clients in low-income/underserved, diverse communities and experience how medical and legal professionals can partner to identify and address the legal needs to improve patients’ health outcomes. Duties include screening clients for eligibility, completing legal intakes, scheduling and conducting client interviews, preparing and presenting case summaries at the firm, and assisting with the drafting of documents, client follow-up, researching legal information, advice, and referrals. 

 

Students should be fluent in English as well as either Spanish or Vietnamese. Students need to be available on Tuesdays and Thursdays to participate in our weekly meetings and receive mentoring and instruction. The clinic and all associated meetings are operating remotely.  The Clinic has the capacity to host 2 interns. 

Interns for the Family Law unit will have the opportunity to work directly with clients and perform administrative tasks. Intern responsibilities may include: client calls requesting documents or additional information, drafting court documents on behalf of clients, researching issues related to a pending client case, performing extended client intakes, and drafting referral memos for clients whose case(s) qualify for representation under VLP’s guidelines. Interns who are 3:03 certified may also have the opportunity to represent clients in a virtual, telephonic or in-person court hearing. Interns will have the ability to develop their phone and interpersonal skills in this position.  The Family Law unit can support up to five (5) interns a semester provided at least two (2) are willing and able to cross-train in guardianship, it is preferable that Family Law and Guardianship Interns are available Monday afternoons for case review meetings and Wednesday mornings for clinic.  

Interns in the Guardianship unit will have the opportunity to review documents, interact directly with clients, do research, and draft documents and memos. Interns will also be able to develop their phone and interpersonal skills as they reach out to clients for documentation and additional information. Some guardianships require medical documentation. As a result, interns will have the opportunity to learn what information is critical for the courts to have and will learn to determine if the court(s) are likely to accept a client’s medical documentation. The Guardianship unit can support two (2) to three (3) interns provided a few are willing and able to cross-train in family law. 

Interns for the Housing unit will have the opportunity to work on each stage of both eviction cases and also affirmative cases suing landlords for damages due to sanitary code violations. Interns’ daily responsibilities include: conducting intakes and triaging referrals for Remote Housing Clinic, interviewing clients, drafting 93A letters, pleadings, answers, and discovery requests. Interns may participate in court mediation sessions, and 3:03 certified interns may appear in court hearings. Interns are also asked to conduct legal research. The Housing unit can support up to five interns per semester. Interns are required to be available on Monday mornings for case review meetings, Tuesday mornings for Lawyer for the Day, (and possibly Thursday mornings for the Answer and Discovery Clinic – tentative schedule for A&D Clinic). 

Interns in the Unemployment unit will have the unique opportunity to work at multiple stages of the  unemployment process, including initial client meetings to assess the merits of the case, conducting research to support the client’s claim and drafting memoranda on cases.  Law students will have the opportunity to prepping and representing clients at administrative appeal hearings. Interns who represent clients at administrative hearings will have the opportunity to conduct direct and cross examinations of witnesses, as well as closing arguments. For unemployment cases that are not taken for in house representation, interns will be able to develop their interview skills when calling claimants to get more information regarding the claimant’s separation or discharge.  This information will be used to draft referral memos to be sent to Pro Bono Attorneys who will then represent the claimant in their DUA hearing. The UI unit can support several interns in the Spring semester.  

Wage and hour interns will focus more on legal research and case preparation.  Interns will be expected to: conduct intakes at clinic, interview clients to determine potential claims, and draft records requests and demand letters. Interns will also be asked to perform research for specific cases and review any documents necessary to pursue a claim. In the spring semester, the wage and hour unit can support only a single intern per semester or several interns who split their time with other units. The Employment case review is held on Tuesday afternoons, but it is not a deal breaker if an applicant is not available during that time. 

Interns for the Wills/Estate Planning unit will have the opportunity to prepare cases for referral to our pro bono panel for assistance with drafting Wills, Health Care Proxy and Power of Attorney documents. This Unit is one of the least busy units of law at VLP and we do not provide legal assistance to clients; we rely entirely on our pro bono volunteers to complete case work. The responsibilities of an intern include: conducting detailed intakes with clients to assess eligibility, interviewing clients to learn about their wishes for their will and advance directives, informing clients on the parameters of such documents and what powers they grant, and drafting case memos to our panel of volunteer attorneys.  Interns are rarely expected to conduct legal research. The Wills/Advance Directives unit can support one intern per semester. Interns are required to be available on Monday afternoon for case review meetings. 

  • Support staff and volunteer attorneys at clinics – often in courthouses
  • Perform intake and observe proceedings
  • *3:03 Certified Students assist clients along with a supervising attorney

Interested?  Email Pro Bono Assistant Danelia Ramirez Aguilar at daguilar@vlpnet.org

COMMITMENT

A minimum of 12-16 hours per week each semester.

AVAILABILITY

Fall, Spring and Summer semesters.

To Apply

If you are interested in any of the Student & Paralegal Opportunities use this centralized form by clicking below.

 

Application